Welcome Guest! Login
0 items Join Now

Regarding Gantry 5: All members feel free to pounce in this.

• Regarding Gantry 5: All members feel free to pounce in this.

Posted 7 years 5 months ago
    • Okay, this is a (year in the making of) rant so I'll try to be lighthearted since I love RT. Except for one "naughty" word, caps are for emphasis, NOT yelling. And this is loOoOoOooooong, so... well... get over it. It took a year to get here, okay!! :O

I mean what I say with all humility and grace and please keep in mind I have been one of your most avid RAH-RAH squads for years... MANY years. Though I don't have letters at the end of my name and I am self taught over 20+ years of web development and geek speak, I believe I am qualified enough on your products, procedures and long term use to make the following statements:

First and foremost, the quality of help in forums is failing. I have seen a particular statement in various forms and flavors in far more posts than I care to mention over an embarrassingly long period of time now. I have to admit, when I saw it again today, it just POPPED MY CORK!
      we have chosen not to undertake (INSERT BLANK FEATURE HERE) in favor of targeting our limited development resources at Gantry 5, Templates and GRAV."

After a long and protracted period of well considered evaluations, here's my list of complaints for Gantry 5:

PRODUCT DISCONTINUATIONS:

You didn't warn long standing (PAID) members templates for G4 have all but been discontinued except for occasional updates (unless you want to chance it that the one you use will be around a while).

You didn't warn us that extensions would be phased out for Gantry 5. Now that's a BIGGIE for most of us.