Welcome Guest! Login
0 items Join Now

Your clients - What do you do about webhosting?

• Your clients - What do you do about webhosting?

Posted 12 years 9 months ago
    • Hello

What do you guys do for clients in terms of their web hosting (those who have none at all). I usually get them to sign up to my hosting company and I upload to that.

Is this the best way to do it, am I missing out on re seller opportunities etc.

I am currently a mature student doing a degree and so I build sites to help pay my bills. It no big licks concern.

Thanks
    • Cliff Pfeifer
    • Preeminent Rocketeer
    • Website Developer

Re: Your clients - What do you do about webhosting?

• You might want to check to see if your host has reseller accounts, if not there are many that do offer that service. Depending on the host, you might find plans that may not be too much more than what you currently pay for your personal hosting. If you factor in your own site(s), you probably only need a client or two to break even on a years worth of service - get a few more and your personal sites are basically hosted for free and everything else is profit.

Other advantages are you can set up as many development areas as you like for projects or demos. In my experience it's also way easier to set up new sites since I control everything. It also offers you a layer of security against clients that try to get out of paying for your work, you have an off switch, a very motivating deterrent.

Google "hosting reseller" - you'll find many, many options. I think it's a great thing for a web professional to have, and you can find affordable options.
    • The difficult we do immediately, the impossible takes a little longer.
  • Re: Your clients - What do you do about webhosting?

• Thanks for your reply cliff

My hosting company is beginning to wind down and so i'm on the lookout for a new company, any recomendations ?
    • Cliff Pfeifer
    • Preeminent Rocketeer
    • Website Developer