Welcome Guest! Login
0 items Join Now

SOLVED Responsive template building in Gantry 5 for a beginner

• SOLVED Responsive template building in Gantry 5 for a beginner

Posted 7 years 9 months ago
    • I’m a template beginner, using Joomla 3.51, Gantry 5, and customizing the Hydrogen template. They're all free.

(I edited and updated this post.)

Purpose of the Thread
      1. Help other beginners by pointing to solutions of beginner's problems that I encountered.
      2. Show my progress and request guidance on issues, such as “what’s next?”

Know your website's purpose
      Knowing your website's purpose (business, social, organization, etc) will guide your decisions.

Choose your platform
      Rockettheme.com documentation lists the major platforms, e.g. Joomla, Wordpress, etc. Research the pros and cons and choose a platform to fit you website's purpose. For example, is your main purpose to present text content or to run a store? Google search will show you a lot of websites reviewing and comparing the platforms. I chose Joomla for my purpose.

Have a compelling reason to build your own template
      If at all possible, use an existing template that is free or purchase one. A commercial template that fits you needs is worth every penny compared to the many hours that it takes to build. Often, it takes me a couple of days to find a solution that a programmer would solve in a couple of minutes. Building my template turned out to be a long project.

I had compelling reasons to build my own template:
      1. I wanted to use Gantry 5, since according to my research it is the most beginner friendly template system.
      2. I needed to retain the look of a well established website that had an obsolete template, which could not support Joomla upgrades.
      3. I could not find a suitable Gantry 5 template.
      4. A professional template designer offered to build my template in Gantry 4 with which he was familiar. He said I could do it in Gantry 5.