Welcome Guest! Login
0 items Join Now

SOLVED My Oculus based website hacked

• SOLVED My Oculus based website hacked

Posted 8 years 5 months ago
    • I have been a software developer for many years, but I am a relatively new user of joomla and RocketTheme Templates. I am using arvixe.com (actually recommended by RocketTheme) to host a personal photography website and am using the Oculus template.

Recently, my site was hacked by some a$$hole from Algeria. I was able to clean this up on my own. I changed all passwords into my arvixe account as well as the admin passwords for Joomla in the configuration.php file and MySQL database. I have also blocked access from IP ranges associated with Algeria. I have submitted a support ticket with Arvixe, and posted on their forum, but so far I haven't had a response from these contacts. I am hoping that this foru may provide some useful suggestions to my question (below).

Part of the hack used a file named 1337w0rm.php. It appears that this exploit is used to crack cPanel security. The result was that the hacker was able to get admin access through joomla and install a couple of packages (Paypal.zip, Update.zip), as well as other files. My site is a simple site which does not involve credit cards, Paypal, or email. I have since deleted all the files added by the hacker.

MY QUESTION IS THIS: Does anyone know which vunerability allows this type of exploit? Also, what can be done in joomla, cPanel, or with the service provider configuration and/or utilities to prevent a re-occurance of this exploit?

One of the php files only contained this string: "hacked by amine bekkadour sorry admin".

Another part of the hack looked like it was trying to set up a fake Paypal login and send login info to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

In yet another file, there was a reference to "MASTER OF SADNESS"; apparently, a hacker known on the internet.